Sound creation process – footsteps and wind

Due to me not having a lot of sounds, I decided to take the opportunity to play around with Logic’s various tools. I imported a raw file of my bed squeaking. Below is the unedited audio, as expected it took quite a bit of cutting to bring it to a decent quality. Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 14.03.56.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-26 at 13.46.22.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-26 at 13.47.33.png

As you can see above I started to insert effects by starting with the pitch correction, this allowed me to deepen or lighten the squeaks within my audio, since these footsteps are for a small creature I decided to make them light and higher pitched.

Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 14.06.53.png

While playing around with the different tools available, I came across the compressor tool, while randomly moving the toggles I came across a sound which felt like it was coming from a different room, I toke the opportunity to save this for some background within the game. I made various files for the footsteps that sound all relatively different, I will be using these for most of the materials within the game.

Below is the cut audio of the wind. I had a few problems with this audio when mixing it, including random bumps in volume after the cut. despite this, I managed to achieve the desirable tracks. Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 14.20.07.png

For the introduction to the island scene I needed to make the wind sound rather haunting, to achieve this I just toke the original wind effect that I use and put a vocal shift as well as changing the channels to their lowest possible settings.

Screen Shot 2017-01-27 at 10.21.04.png

Leave a Reply

