Footsteps in unreal

An important part of game design that is often unnoticed is footsteps. For my project I felt it appropriate to add in footsteps for my character, and for the sounds to change when he stepped on a different surface. To begin I needed to open up my characters run loop animation and create a new notify so that I could bring them into a blueprint later on, I simply named these notifies “Footstep_L” and “Footstep_R”Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 09.33.47.pngI placed these notifies where the foot hit the ground so that the sound would play at the appropriate time.Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 09.24.23.pngThe next step was to sort out the blueprints for the sounds, within my character animation event graph I would assign the sounds I have imported to certain titles. Below you can se that I have imported the two notifies and connected them to a “LineTraceBy Channel”. After Establishing the actor location, I could drag out a “GetSurfaceType” node, along with a “select” node to assign sounds to certain titles. Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 09.31.44.pngScreen Shot 2016-05-25 at 09.24.06.pngThe next step was to create a physical material, so that I could assign the sounds to the normal materals. This was simply done by opening a physical material and changing the “surface type” to what ever title I assigned a sound to Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 09.39.44.pngScreen Shot 2016-05-25 at 09.44.41.pngAs you can see below I have opened up the landscape material, and under “physical material”, I have inserted the dirt material , so when ever the character steps on this material, the “dirt” sound file would be played. I later did the same with the wooden material. I would of liked to make multiple sounds to the landscape afterwards, since the land varies from stone path to dirt, however I could not find away to apply these to plain textures, I think in the future I might have to make the path a separate mesh al together. Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 09.25.02.png

Leave a Reply

