Trees in Unreal

I tried quite a few models in an attempt to make trees which I could use widely through my game, below you can see a couple of my attempts. At making a tree for my level, however in the end I only used one model. Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 18.09.36.pngThe issue with the model above was that I couldn’t use it widely though my level, however I did use a couple of these throughout my town. This model was too high poly to be widely useful, and would slow the game down too much. Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 18.09.09.pngAbove is the second attempt at a tree I could mass-produce throughout the map. For this model I made use of blenders tree generator, which created the trunk, as well as the leaves. The model made use of plains and the cycles render engine to create the tree, however I found that this generator was mainly for use in blender, and didn’t export too well, it also couldn’t get down to the desired poly count to place on mass around the map. Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 18.07.34.pngAbove is the final model I went with, in blender I decided to have a go at making pine trees, this was a good choice in this end because it meant that I could make them cheaply as well as use them to add density to the landscape. In the end this model came to 56 faces per-tree. I imported 3 of these trees with different levels of hight and placed them in the foliage painter, then I could paint the trees wherever I wished.     Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 18.38.13.png

Leave a Reply

